Skip to main
Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

The University of Kentucky Libraries is accepting nominations for the 2024 University of Kentucky Libraries Medallion for Intellectual Achievement now until Saturday, October 7.

Created in 1990 and considered one of UK’s most prestigious awards, the UK Libraries Medallion for Intellectual Achievement is awarded annually to a Kentucky resident whose accomplishments in the fields of science, literature, art, or philanthropy have made a profound impact on the Commonwealth and represent the pinnacle of creative or scholarly thought.

To be eligible, nominees must be a Kentucky native or have more than three years of study, work, or residency in Kentucky. Both individuals and groups may be considered. Final selection of the medallion recipient is determined by majority vote of the UK Libraries National Advisory Board.

Past recipients include Thomas D. Clark, Wendell Berry, Guy Davenport, bell hooks, Bobbie Ann Mason, Everett McCorvey, Douglas Scutchfield, George C. Wright, and – most recently – UK’s own Professor Emeritus of Educational Policy Studies & Evaluation, John R. Thelin.

To submit a nomination, please fill out the 2024 UK Libraries Medallion Nomination Form. Nomination statements should focus on the following criteria:

  • Description of the achievement realized
  • Significance of the nominee's accomplishments
  • Endorsements of the nominee's work

The nomination form includes additional information on the award criteria and submission requirements. 

Completed nomination forms and supporting documents should be sent via email to Carl Goodmonson, UK Libraries Director of Philanthropy, no later than 11:59 p.m. on Saturday, October 7. Please feel free to also contact Goodmonson with questions regarding the award, its criteria, or the nomination process at