Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

Through the Earle C. Clements Innovation in Education Award, the National Archives and UK Libraries' Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center recognize teachers with a marked impact on student success, who display great creativity and innovation in the classroom and show an unflagging enthusiasm and commitment to increasing student awareness of the importance of public service. 

View all of our past Clements Award recipients, and learn more about our most recent winners below.

2022 Clements Award Recipients

Peyton Barnhill

Peyton Barnhill earned a bachelor’s degree in history from UK in 2020. He teaches fifth and sixth grade social studies at Flat Lick Elementary School, where he is an academic team coach, Governor’s Cup coordinator, Unite Club scholar, Student Technology Leadership program leader and coordinates the school’s homecoming. He was selected by the Board of Education and superintendent to write the social studies curriculum for use in schools in the Knox County School District.

“Having this young man as a role model for our students is exactly what we needed at this school. It is obvious he has a love of learning and the level of commitment necessary to succeed in the workplace and beyond. He has become a great asset to this classroom as well as to his school and community.” --Flat Lick Elementary School Principal Jason Cornett.

Kelly Beckett

Kelly Beckett has been in education for over a decade, serving in a variety of roles. She worked with students in every grade level through her role in an English Language Learner program and the Special Education unit. She has spent the past several years at Royal Spring Middle School in Scott County, teaching sixth grade world history and eighth grade U.S. history. In 2021 she was awarded the Teacher of the Year award and accepted a new role as assistant principal, and she recently graduated with her education specialist degree.

“It is a true honor to be awarded the Clements Award,” Beckett said. “My goal as a social studies teacher is to inspire involvement in our democracy. I try to show them that public service and civic duty are not only essential to our nation but enriching experiences for them as young teens.”

Brandon Forshey

Brandon Forshey has been teaching in Kentucky since 2018, and currently teaches sixth grade social studies at Summit View Academy in Kenton County Schools. He was recently one of 120 teachers from across the country to be accepted into the Library of Congress Seminar Series’ National History Day Teaching with Primary Sources. Forshey earned a bachelor’s degree in social studies education and is working on his master’s degree in educational leadership through Eastern Kentucky University, with an anticipated completion of summer 2023.

“I am overwhelmingly honored to be a recipient of this year’s Clements Award,” Forshey said. “I strive to make my classroom a place where every student can find pieces of history they love and want to explore for the rest of their lives.”