

F

O

R

N

Ι

N

A

Ι

N

S

Name:

THE UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY LIBRARIES MEDALLION FOR INTELLECTUAL ACHIEVEMENT

Nomination Form

Nominee Information:

Place of residency (in Kentucky)	: Number of Years:
Current Address:	
Education:	
Profession/Vocation:	
Please note the following	requirements and recommendations for submission:
• A Statement of Nomin pages, is required.	ation in favor of your candidate, limited to two
	recommended, as are any other documents you may our nominee's candidacy.
• A Statement From a Conominee's achievement,	olleague is recommended to provide context for the limited to two pages.
Nominator Information:	
Name:	
Position:	
Address:	
Telephone:	E-mail:

Nominations must be submitted by email no later than 11:59 PM EDT Saturday, September 30th, 2023 to:

Carl Goodmonson, UK Libraries Director of Philanthropy

859.218.0707 | <u>carl.goodmonson@uky.edu</u>



THE UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY LIBRARIES MEDALLION FOR INTELLECTUAL ACHIEVEMENT

Purpose of the Award

University of Kentucky Libraries created the Medallion for Intellectual Achievement to recognize high intellectual achievement by Kentuckians, to encourage education, and to promote creative thought by citizens throughout the Commonwealth. The Award is one of the most coveted awards bestowed by the University.

Description of the Award

The medallion is a bronze replica of *The Fountain of the Arts and Sciences* by Jacopo de Trezzo, <u>ca.</u> 1550.

Eligibility Requirements

Candidates for the award must:

- Be living when chosen to be the laureate
- Have been born in Kentucky, or had more than three years of study, work or residence in Kentucky
- Have evidenced intellectual achievement in a scientific, artistic, literary, social or humanitarian field
- Have produced some original work or contribution of lasting value

To Whom the Medallion Is Not Given

However valued they may be, the following good deeds and characteristics are not in themselves achievements for which the Award is intended: social service or sacrifice; philanthropy; religious, political or financial prominence; or fame won in the several forms of public diversion or entertainment. If, however, a person or group has displayed exceptional use of the intellect in one of these fields and has therein created something of lasting value (for example a new political, social, or economic process, theory, or doctrine) then that person or group, if otherwise qualified, may suitably be considered to receive the Award.

The Selection Process

Requests for nominees are solicited and received during the months of July and August. The submissions are sent to the UK Libraries National Advisory Board members for consideration before the fall board meeting. Current members of the Board are not eligible for the award. The President of the Board will lead a discussion for each nominee followed by a series of voting to select a recipient. In order to maintain the prestige of the award, the laureate must be a person of top quality in his or her field. If it is the opinion of the Board by unanimous vote that no such qualified person is nominated in any year, a recipient will not be selected and the award will not be given. The recipient and their nominator will be notified as well as the nominators of the persons not selected. The presentation of the award will be held during the UK Libraries National Advisory Board's Spring Gala.

THE UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY LIBRARIES PAST MEDALLION AWARD RECIPIENTS

- 1990 Thomas D. Clark
- 1991 Bert T. Combs
- 1992 O. Leonard Press
- 1993 Wendell Berry
- 1994 James Still
- 1995 Thomas D. Parrish
- 1996 Clay Lancaster
- 1997 Carolyn R. Hammer
- 1998 Bobbie Ann Mason
- 1999 Phillip Sharp
- 2000 Pierce Lively
- 2001 Guy Davenport
- 2002 Nancy Martin
- 2003 Jean Ritchie
- 2004 William Markesbery
- 2005 Albert P. Smith, Jr.
- 2006 David B. Dick
- 2007 Not awarded
- 2008 Lyman A. Gray, Jr.
- 2009 Joe Lee
- 2010 George C. Herring
- 2011 Adalin Wichman
- 2012 John Anthony
- 2013 John W. Egerton
- 2014 Karl Raitz
- 2015 George C. Wright
- 2016 James Klotter
- 2017 F. Douglas Scutchfield
- 2018 Everett McCorvey
- 2019 Robert K. Wallace
- 2020 Robert G. Lawson
- 2021 bell hooks
- 2022 Tracy Campbell
- 2023 John Thelin

