Special Collections Research Center

SCRC Awards

In 2014, The National Archives and the University of Kentucky Libraries Wendell H. Ford Public Policy Research Center formed a partnership to create The Earle C. Clements Innovation in Education Award for Civics and History Teachers.  The award honors the life and career of the late Earle C. Clements and his lifelong commitment to education and public service. Clements’ political career included service as a county sheriff, clerk, and judge; in the state senate and as governor; and in the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate, where he was a close colleague to Lyndon Baines Johnson. The late Bess Clements Abell, Clements’ daughter, was a board member of the Foundation for the National Archives, a member of UK Libraries National Advisory Board, and alum of the University of Kentucky.

The Clements Award recognizes promising and innovative Kentucky high school educators and honors the life and career of the late Earle C. Clements.

 Up to three history and/or civics (social studies) teachers throughout the Commonwealth of Kentucky are selected by an independent review panel for the Clements Award and will receive $1,000 each. The award criteria include the following:

  • teacher’s knowledge of, and enthusiasm for, the subject and commitment to increasing student awareness of the importance of public service;
  • impact on student success; and
  • evidence of creativity and innovation.

Past Winners

2019 - Ashley McGaughey, Donnie Wilkerson, Chris Workman

2018 - Laura Cooley, Dustin Ferrell, Amber Sergent

2017 - Amy Michele Madsen, Steven K. Riley, Whitney Walker

2016 – Margaret Lynn Brewer

2015 - Timothy Peterson

SCRC Front Desk and Main Entrance
Breckinridge Research Room
All Other Questions & Comments: WebAdmin@lsv.uky.edu